Record Breaking Crowd for the 2019 National Indigenous Music Awards!

It is the First Nations music night of nights and the 2019 National Indigenous Music Awards exceeded expectations, producing the annual award ceremony’s largest ever crowd, as well as an amazing variety of stellar live performances.

Held under the stars at Darwin’s iconic amphitheatre, dancers from Larrakia/Belyuen, Mornington Island and North Winds kicked off the festivities before emerging hip-hop artist Tasman Keith took to the stage with an energy-filled performance.

Following the announcement of Deni Mob’s ‘State of the Heart’ as this year’s Community Music Clip Award, Triple J Unearthed winner Dallas Woods wowed the crowd with his spitfire lyrics before being joined by the 2018 New Talent of the Year winner Baker Boy to perform their hit single ‘Black Magic’.

Violinist/vocalist Eric Avery held the 3000-strong crowd captive throughout his hauntingly beautiful set before the announcement of the 2019 Hall of Fame inductees, this year’s honours went to Tiddas as well as Wilma Reading, who also treated the crowd to a live performance.

Soprano Deborah Cheetman showcased her incredible vocal skills with an emotive and moving set before Uncle Archie Roach took to the stage with Uncle Jack Charles, followed shortly by all-girls choir Spinifex Gum, their 20-minute set a highlight for many.

Next up was 2015 Artist of the Year winner Dan Sultan, before Mojo Juju’s ‘Native Tongue’ was announced as the recipient of the Album of the Year Award. This was followed by an exciting performance from electronic duo and Eurovision alumni Electric Fields.

The final award of the evening, the Artist of the Year Award, went to the Fresh Prince of Arnhem Land himself Baker Boy, before the evening was rounded out with a half-hour show-stopping performance from Darwin musical royalty Jessica Mauboy.

Congratulation to all of the recipients of the 2019 National Indigenous Music Awards:

Artist Of The Year

Baker Boy

Album of the Year

Mojo Juju – Native Tongue

Song of The Year

Mojo Juju – Native Tongue

New Talent Of The Year


Film Clip Of The Year

Briggs – Life Is Incredible

Director: Dylan River

Community Clip Of The Year

Deni Mob – State Of The Heart

Hall of Fame Inductees


Wilma Reading

Archie Roach Foundation Award


Special Recognition Award

Djuki Mala