Finalists announced for 2015 NIMA’s

Jessica Mauboy, Dan Sultan, maverick hip-hop artist Briggs and former triple j Unearthed NIMA winner Thelma Plum have been selected as Finalists in the category of Artist of the Year to be announced at this year’s National Indigenous Music Awards [NIMAs] on Saturday July 25th.

Song of the Year finalists are Dan Sultan, Thelma Plum with two songs, Briggs and Emma Donovan. Album of the Year could go to Frank Yamma, East Journey ft Yothu Yindi, Briggs or Emma Donovan. This is certainly one of NIMAs more curious years.

Film Clip of the Year is always a tough decision and this year is no exception with a plethora of entries whittled down to these finalists; Dan Sultan for Dirty Ground, East Journey ft Yothu Yindi Song of Arnhem Land (Salas/Moore Mix), Radical Son Human Behaviour, Briggs Bad Apples and Parlingarri by B2M (Bathurst to Melville).

The same applies to Cover Art of the Year; all feature memorable covers. Frank Yamma’s Uncle, Song of Arnhem Land the single cover by East Journey ft. Yothu Yindi, Cause N Affect by Radical Son and Sheplife by Briggs all feature remarkable artwork.

The short list for New Talent of the Year is always a highly anticipated one. This year three acts have a long road ahead of them but with a NIMA win could see them projected further up the path. In the running for a second year is Central Desert’s Tjintu Desert Band, last year’s triple j Unearthed NIMA winner hip hop artist Philly [Phillip Murray] and the wild card Lucky Luke.

Anticipated with as much interest is the annual triple j Unearthed NIMA Competition winner which was announced on the stations DRIVE program yesterday. 22 y.o. Zane Francis a young artist from the S.E. QLD border region of Tweed Heads/Coolangatta follows in the footsteps of Thelma Plum, Robbie Miller and Philly – “I never would’ve thought in a million years that my little track would deliver me such amazing global feedback and now this incredible opportunity to perform at the NIMA’s. My performance at NIMA will be the first time ‘Acclimate’ has been performed live and I seriously couldn’t think of a better place for it to occur. says Zane.

‘triple j Unearthed is overjoyed to crown Zane Francis. He earned it on the back of his striking tune ‘Acclimate’. While the song only lasts for a shade over two minutes, they’re nonetheless breathtaking with Zane’s rich voice packing a devastatingly powerful emotional punch that grips your ears from the first listen and doesn’t let go.’ Dave Ruby Howe, triple j Music Director.

Acknowledging the significant and critical role that music plays in spreading positive messages throughout Indigenous communities, the NIMAs Community Clip of the Year Award is one we encourage everyone to check and acknowledge the work happening across remote communities.

This year’s line-up mirrors the confluence of genres represented by 2015s Finalists. Gurrumul premieres ‘live’ songs from his new The Gospel album, the largely unknown yet set to be a highlight performance by The Painted Ladies featuring The Medics; the highly anticipated live one-hour performance of The Genesis Project by East Journey feat. Yothu Yindi along with the inimitable Frank Yamma and NT local favorites from the Tiwi Islands B2M demonstrate the interesting juncture Indigenous music has come to. The last act to join this bill is the legendary Central Australian band Blekbela Mujik. Broadly considered to be one of the most influential of Australia’s Aboriginal rock bands they have had decades of ‘live’ experience and will most certainly blow the audience away as they celebrate 30 years rocking out across the country.

“This years finalists offer a diverse breath of fresh air within the mainstream music industry. They integrate a rich cultural heritage that illustrates an intimate connection to place and a respect for environment that resonates with the wider community. NIMAs is fast becoming known as the best event in the country for cross-cultural engagement; this is something we can all be very proud of”. Mark Smith the Executive Director of MusicNT & NIMAs.”

National Artist of the Year

  • Jessica Mauboy
  • Thelma Plum
  • Dan Sultan
  • Briggs

National Song of the Year

  • How Much Does Your Love Cost? – Thelma Plum
  • Young In Love – Thelma Plum
  • Bad Apples – Briggs
  • Dirty Ground – Dan Sultan
  • Black Woman – Emma Donovan

National Album of the Year

  • Sheplife – Briggs
  • Dawn – Emma Donovan and Putbacks
  • Uncle – Frank Yamma
  • The Genesis Project – East Journey featuring Yothu Yindi

National New Talent of the Year

  • Philly
  • Lucky Luke
  • Tjintu Desert Band

National Cover Art of the Year

  • Song of Arnhem Land – East Journey ft Yothu Yindi
  • Cause N Affect – Radical Son
  • Uncle – Frank Yamma
  • Sheplife – Briggs

National Film Clip of the Year

  • Bad Apples – Briggs
  • Song of Arnhem Land (Salas/Moore Mix) – East Journey
  • Human Behaviour – Radical Son
  • Dirty Ground – Dan Sultan
  • Parlingarri – B2M (Bathurst to Melville)

Community Clip of the Year [now National]

  • Breath In, Breath Out: Produced By: Indigenous Hip Hop Projects was proud to partner with Katherine West Health Board and Bulla Camp
  • Got a lot Going On – Yarn Safe: Produced By: Indigenous Hip Hop Projects and Indigenous creative agency Gilimbaa
  • Uncle Alfred’s Mens Group – Spear of Destiny: Produced By: Desert Pea Media
  • Cairns Murri Crew – Built To Last: Produced By: Desert Pea Media
  • Tagai Buway – Two Worlds: Produced By: Desert Pea Media
  • Call On Me: Produced by: Indigenous Hip Hop Projects was proud to partner with Broome Regional Aboriginal Medical Service and St. Mary’s College