2016 NIMA Lineup in Full!

The lineup of acts for the 2016 National Indigenous Music Awards have been announced!

With this year’s theme being Protest Songs, this year’s performances will imbue the crowd with an emotional potency as songs both contemporary and iconic will be delivered by a diverse line-up. Celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Wave Hill walk off, the 40th anniversary of the Land Rights Act, 30 years since the release of Yothu Yindi’s Tribal Voice and 25 years since Treaty topped the charts this year’s National Indigenous Music Awards will be an historical and musical highlight.

The lineup includes:

  • AB Original
  • Shellie Morris
  • Warren H. Williams and Danielle Young
  • Kahl Wallis
  • Lonely Boys
  • Stanley “Gawurra” Gaykamangu
  • Yirrmal with his father Witiyana Marika [Yothu Yindi]
  • Rayella
  • Chris Tamwoy
  • David Spry
  • Kuren (triple j Unearthed NIMA competition winner)

The Rirratjingu Clan from North/East Arnhem Land will bring to Darwin one of the largest group of dancers in years for a special traditional performance (Bunggul) by members in honor of Roy Marika the ‘Father of Land Rights‘ and Djuki Mala bring the NIMA’s audience an exclusive, a specially choreographed performance for the increasingly relevant anthem – Treaty.

NIMA Awards Ceremony & Concert: Saturday 6th August, Darwin Amphitheatre, NT.
To book tickets head to: www.musicnt.com.au/national-indigenous-music-awards/ticketing