• National Indigenous Music Awards Announce Stellar Performance Lineup for its 20th Annual Event

    To celebrate two decades of the premier First Nations music celebration event, superstar Jessica Mauboy will lead a performance bill that includes Dan Sultan, 3%, Miss Kaninna and more.

    Two decades since its inception, the National Indigenous Music Awards have helped launch the careers of some of the most important voices and talented music makers in Australian history, while serving as a deserved celebration of the incredible music created by our Indigenous artists. Now for its 20th anniversary event, sponsored by Amazon Music, it will host a wealth of performances from the best of this lot, including Jessica Mauboy, Dan Sultan, 3%, Miss Kaninna, Arrkula Yinbayarra (Together We Sing) feat. Dr Shellie Morris AO, Birdz and Fred Leone, Eleanor Dixon Trio and Emily Wurramara.

    With so much talent together under the Larrakia sky, a special selection of performers will band together for a once-off 20th anniversary performance in the form of a collaborative song at the Darwin Amphitheatre ceremony on August 10.

    Jessica Mauboy reached superstar status early on in her career, with talents that span live performance, vocals, songwriting, acting and far beyond. From rising to fame as runner up on Australian Idol in 2006, Mauboy has gone on to record five acclaimed studio albums that include several multi-platinum, platinum and gold-status singles such as “Burn,” “Running Back,” and “Saturday Night.” In her recent career moves, Mauboy released her 2023 hit with Jason Derulo titled “Give You Love” and performed at the 2023 Sydney World Pride festival. Beyond music, her talents can be seen on the screen where she’s featured in Aussie favourite films like The Sapphires and Bran Nue Dae.

    The music icon says of the annual ceremony, “The NIMAs is truly the night of nights for Indigenous music! Celebrating its 20-year anniversary this year, the NIMAs hold even greater significance, especially for First Nations artists, as they recognise the excellence and hard work being done in the music space.”

    “Over the years, I’ve made so many incredible memories at the NIMAs. One of my favourite moments was when I was in the amphitheatre watching Yothu Yindi perform. I was up on the hills with my fam, looking down into the theatre, and when ‘Treaty’ was performed, everyone rushed to the stage. It felt like the whole mob just transformed into a mosh pit, and we were all together as one in that moment. It was an absolutely euphoric feeling. I’m thrilled to be performing at this year’s event, marking such an important milestone in celebrating Indigenous music.”

    Another Bran Nue Dae alum and beloved ARIA and NIMA-winning artist Dan Sultan will perform at this year’s ceremony. Quickly adored for his suave alt tunes, Sultan has released seven studio albums since 2006, the most recent of which – his self-titled record – earned him the ARIA Award for Best Adult Contemporary Album. The celebrated musician, actor and member of the Black Arm Band will light up the Amphitheatre stage in August.

    First Nations’ super group 3%, consisting of Dallas Woods, Nooky and Angus Field, will also join the bill. Having released their massive debut single featuring a sample from The Presets – “OUR PEOPLE,” in October 2023, it’s been all up since then. They combine the well-loved flow and lyricism of Nooky and Dallas Woods, weaved in perfectly with Angus’ emotive vocals – linking together their individual communities and experiences. The result is a group that is a force to be reckoned with.

    No one knows a faster rise to the top than Miss Kaninna. Having only released her debut single, “Blak Britney,” in 2023, Kaninna has already reached over a million streams, performed at global showcasing events BIGSOUND, The Great Escape and South By Southwest, and appeared on top festival bills like Beyond The Valley, Party In The Paddock, Mona Foma, and A Festival Called Panama.

    Joining her on the bill are Arrkula Yinbayarra (Together We Sing) ft. Dr Shellie Morris AO. Dr Morris, also a member of the Black Arm Band, has penned some of the nation’s most revered songs in several indigenous languages, like Yanyuwa, Marra, Garrwa and Gurdanji. Her talents and wisdom have earned her an honorary doctorate from The University of Sydney, performances alongside the likes of Yothu Yindi, and several NIMA awards and other nominations.

    Emily Wurramara has been a favourite in the national music scene since the release of her debut record Milyakburra in 2018 for which she received widespread critical acclaim. The 2018 NIMA New Talent of the Year will grace the stages again, but this time as a performer.

    Notorious duo Birdz and Fred Leone will join forces again for the 20th year National Indigenous Music Awards. Birdz is a prominent activist and talented rap artist, and Leone is a traditional songman with a heavenly voice. In addition to their dynamic performance will be a show from the Eleanor Dixon Trio, featuring Mick Turner from the Dirty Three. Over her career so far, Dixon has shared her music and stories at national festivals – including as the first woman to perform at the Bush Bands Bash – won awards and performed with some of the biggest names in the Australian music industry.

    Between each of their individual sets, the illustrious talents of each of these musicians will come together for a once-off collaborative performance to celebrate the 20th anniversary of the National Indigenous Music Awards at the ceremony on August 10. The awards will be broadcast on National Indigenous Television (NITV), with more details to come.