2017 Nominations open now

April 21, 2017

2017 promises to be an amazing year for Indigenous music, and this is your chance to recognise bands and musicians that are creating amazing work. Nominations are now open for the 2017 National Indigenous Music Awards. The NIMAs recognise achievement in the Indigenous music industry and this is your chance to nominate. Head to the NOMINATE link and […]

NIMA 2017 nominations open soon

April 14, 2017

Nominations for 2017’s National Indigenous Music Awards are open soon.  In a year that promises releases from some of the biggest Indigenous acts in the country, this year’s awards is shaping up to be the biggest yet.  The NIMA’s celebrate excellence and achievement in the Indigenous music industry.  Details will be available in coming weeks.

NIMA 2016 Winners Announced

August 6, 2016

Gurrumul reigned supreme again at this year’s NIMA taking out Artist of the Year for the fifth time. Newcomer and rapidly rising star Gawurra took home a swag of NIMA Awards winning New Talent of the Year,  Album, Cover Art and Film Clip of the year – the latter being presented by Jack Thompson. Song […]

2016 NIMA Lineup in Full!

July 19, 2016

The lineup of acts for the 2016 National Indigenous Music Awards have been announced! With this year’s theme being Protest Songs, this year’s performances will imbue the crowd with an emotional potency as songs both contemporary and iconic will be delivered by a diverse line-up. Celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Wave Hill walk off, […]

NIMA Finalists announced

July 14, 2016

Key announcements: NIMA Finalists announced FINAL Artist Announce today triple j Unearthed NIMA competition winner details The final artists to join the bill for NIMA 2016 are; Shellie Morris, Warren H. Williams with Danielle Young, punk rockers Lonely Boys and Yirrmal with his father Witiyana Marika [Yothu Yindi].  The Rirratjingu Clan from North/East Arnhem Land […]

First Artist Announce for NIMA 2016

June 28, 2016

AB Original, Kahl Wallis, Emma Donovan, rising star Stanley “Gawurra” Gaykamangu and emerging artists Rayella, Chris Tamwoy and David Spry are the first names announced to perform at this year’s National Indigenous Music Awards. 2016 is a year of significant milestones for Indigenous people including the 50th anniversary of the Wave Hill walk off, the […]

Nominations Open 2016

May 3, 2016

2016 plays host to a swag of milestones for Indigenous people nation-wide; the 50th anniversary of the Wave Hill walk off, the 40th anniversary of the Land Rights Act, 30 years since the release of Yothu Yindi’s double platinum selling album Tribal Voice and 25 years since the iconic sound of Treaty pulsated across the […]

2015 NIMA Winners Are….

July 22, 2015

For the first time in NIMA history two artists were awarded the Artist of the Year prize; Jessica Mauboy and Dan Sultan.  An equal amount of votes came in from the voting panel for each artist and the decision was made to honor both parties with this prestigious national award. “What a great honour to […]

Finalists announced for 2015 NIMA’s

July 10, 2015

Jessica Mauboy, Dan Sultan, maverick hip-hop artist Briggs and former triple j Unearthed NIMA winner Thelma Plum have been selected as Finalists in the category of Artist of the Year to be announced at this year’s National Indigenous Music Awards [NIMAs] on Saturday July 25th. Song of the Year finalists are Dan Sultan, Thelma Plum […]

triple j Unearthed winner – Zane Francis

July 8, 2015

Congratulations to this year’s triple j Unearthed winner Zane Francis. Zane Francis a young electronic/indie artist from Tweed Heads/Coolangatta. He follows in the footsteps of Thelma Plum, Robbie Miller and Philly to perfrom in Darwin at the NIMAs. “I never would’ve thought in a million years that my little track would deliver me such amazing […]